Home The Open Qualifying Series

The Open Qualifying Series

The SMBC Singapore Open’s stature in the game has been recognized by The R&A, who have once again made the tournament part of The Open Qualifying Series.

It is the third year on-the-trot that Singapore’s national Open has been part of the series and will mean the leading four non-exempt players will secure their places for the 148th Open at Royal Portrush Golf Club, in Northern Ireland, July 18-21.

“The fact that the SMBC Singapore Open 2019 will be part of The Open Qualifying Series is a tremendous attribute that provides our tournament with global exposure,” said Ross Tan, President of the Singapore Golf Association.

In total, 16 events in 11 countries that will make up The Open Qualifying Series for 2019.

American Sean Crocker, Lucas Herbert from Australia and Thailand’s Jazz Janewattananond and Danthai Boonma, were the four players who qualified for The Open at Carnoustie in 2018 via January’s SMBC Singapore Open. Both Crocker and Herbert survived the halfway cut.

“The SMBC Singapore Open has been a key tournament in Asia for our Open Qualifying Series. It first became part of the series in 2017 and The R&A are thrilled that it will once again be part of the schedule,” said Dominic Wall, Director Asia Pacific, The R&A.

Places in the starting field at The Open in 2019 will be even for more sought after as it will be only the second time in the event’s more than 150-year history that it will be played outside of Scotland and England, and the tournament is expected to be the biggest sporting event ever held in Northern Ireland.

A total of 46 places in The Open are available through the series, which provides golfers with opportunities to qualify at events around the world on the PGA TOUR, the European Tour, the PGA Tour of Australasia, the Asian Tour, the Korean Tour, the Japan Golf Tour and the Sunshine Tour.

Johnnie Cole-Hamilton, Executive Director – Championships at The R&A, said: “The race to qualify for The Open at Royal Portrush has well and truly begun and we are eagerly anticipating an exciting series of events as golfers around the world aim to book their place at the Championship.

“We know that there is real excitement at the prospect of The Open returning to Northern Ireland in almost 70 years and it will undoubtedly act as an extra incentive for those players who are hopeful of teeing it up at the famous Dunluce links in July.”

The Open Qualifying Series:

Emirates Australian Open
15-18 November 2018
(Three places)

South African Open hosted by The City of Joburg
6-9 December 2018
(Three places)

SMBC Singapore Open
17-20 January
(Four places)

Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by Mastercard
7-10 March
(Three places)

The Mizuno Open
30 May-2 June
(Four places)

RBC Canadian Open
6-9 June
(Three places)

KOLON Korea Open
Dates TBC
(Two places)

Andalucía Valderrama Masters
27-30 June
(Three places)

Rocket Mortgage Classic
27-30 June
(Two places)

TOQS-Final Qualifying
2 July
(12 places)

Dubai Duty Free Irish Open
4-7 July
(Three places)

Aberdeen Standard Investments Scottish Open
11-14 July
(Three places)

John Deere Classic
11-14 July
(One place)

Comments are closed.